Andhra Pradesh, Telangana get separate high courts

Over four years after the bifurcation that led to the creation of Telangana, the High Courts that served the two states was on Tuesday split into independent High Courts to serve each state.

Governor E S L Narasimhan administered the oath of office to Acting Chief Justice C Praveen Kumar and 13 other judges at a function held in the twin cities Amravati and Vijayawada.

Earlier in the day before flying to Vijayawada, Governor Narasimhan administered the oath of office to Chief Justice Justice Thottathil Bhaskaran Nair Radhakrishnan as the first Chief justice of Telangana High Court at Hyderabad. Judges were also administered the oath of offices at both Hyderabad and Amravati.

With this, the total number of High Courts functioning in the country has risen to 25. Till now, the high court at Hyderabad had been functioning as the common high court for both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

President Ram Nath Kovind had last week issued orders for a separate High Court of Andhra Pradesh.

The Supreme Court had refused to take up for immediate hearing a petition filed by Andhra Pradesh Lawyers’ Association for postponing the shifting of High Court to Amaravati till the construction of High Court building was completed there. The Supreme Court will take up the petition for hearing on Wednesday.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *