Australia recognises West Jerusalem as Israeli capital

Australia has become one of the few countries to formally recognise West Jerusalem as Israel’s capital but says it will not move its embassy from Tel Aviv until a peace settlement is reached.

The prime minister, Scott Morrison, said the government will also recognise a future state of Palestine with its capital in East Jerusalem after a settlement has been reached on a two-state solution.

Both Israel and the Palestinians claim Jerusalem as their Capital and this despite is not resolved yet.

The United States President Donald Trump’s administration had also announced the recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital on December 6, 2017.

The UN General Assembly passed a resolution in opposition to declare the US President Donald Trump’s declaration of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital “null and void”. India also supported the resolution, which was approved with a majority of 127-9 at the UN General Assembly calling for the US to withdraw its decision.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *