Gram Swaraj Abhiyan

The Central Government is looking to launch seven schemes for 17,000 poor villages, under which free LPG connections, electricity supply, Jan Dhan accounts, two PM Insurance schemes and the immunisation of children will be available in 21 days.

This plan will be implemented in 484 districts in 33 States and Union Territories. The maximum number of these villages are in Uttar Pradesh, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Punjab and Meghalaya. The objective of the scheme is to ensure total coverage, which is an ambitious goal for the government.

The campaign is scheduled to be launched on Ambedkar Jayanti, i.e. 14th April under the name of “Sabka Sath, Sabka Gaon, Sabka Vikas”. It is in line with rural development schemes like “Antyodaya” – based on the principle of “convergence and saturation”. The current initiative will aim for 100% coverage under the schemes for eligible beneficiaries in the three-week window from April 14 to May 5.

The seven schemes are – Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana, Saubhagya, Ujala scheme, Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana, Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana, Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana and Mission Indradhanush.

The objective of the ‘Abhiyan’ is to promote social harmony, reach out to poor rural households, obtain feedback on ongoing programmes, enrol in new initiatives, focus on doubling farmers’ income, enhance livelihood opportunities and re-emphasise national priorities such as cleanliness and strengthen Panchayati Raj institutions, a press note said.

Also, discussed in the meeting was that ‘Samajik Nyaya Diwas’ would be celebrated on April 14 under “Gram Swaraj Abhiyan”.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *