Gujarat to grant status of religious minority to Jews

The Gujarat government will grant the status of the religious minority to Jews in the state and a notification to this effect will be issued soon, Chief Minister Vijay Rupani said today, fulfilling a long-pending demand of the community. This was revealed by Chief Minister Rupani during his meeting with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu here. During the 45-minute long meeting, Rupani told Netanyahu that “an in-principle decision has been taken to grant Gujarati Jews the status of the religious minority”.

Judaism originated in the Middle East over 3500 years ago

Judaism was founded by Moses, although Jews trace their history back to Abraham.

Jews believe that there is only one God with whom they have a covenant.

In exchange for all the good that God has done for the Jewish people, Jewish people keep God’s laws and try to bring holiness into every aspect of their lives.

Judaism has a rich history of the religious text, but the central and most important religious document is the Torah.

Jewish traditional or oral law, the interpretation of the laws of the Torah, is called Halakhah.

Spiritual leaders are called Rabbis.

Jews worship in Synagogues.

They follow the Hebrew calendar. They have a special thanksgiving ceremony known as Eliyahoo-ha-Nabiore. ‘gratitude to Elijah the Prophet’, on festive occasions.

6 million Jews were murdered in the Holocaust in an attempt to wipe out Judaism.

The Jewish community in India is one among a large number of groups who had come from outside the country’s modern territorial borders and made India their home.

Main Jews groups in India:

  • Cochin Jews.
  • Chennai/Madras Jews.
  • Bene Israel.
  • Baghdadi Jews.
  • Delhi Jews.
  • Bnei Menashe.
  • Bene Ephraim (Telugu Jews).
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *