Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs chaired by the Prime Minister has approved the proposal for renaming and restructuring of Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP) as Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK).  CCEA has also approved its continuation during the remaining period of the 14th Finance Commission.


The restructured programme would provide better socio-economic infrastructure facilities to the minority communities particularly in the field of education, health & skill development as compared to the present situation, which would further lead to the lessening of the gap between the national average and the minority communities with regard to backwardness parameters. The flexibility introduced in the programme will enable addressing important issues that would result in speedier implementation leading to the greater inclusiveness of the minority communities.

The criteria for identification of Minority Concentration Towns and Clusters of Villages have been rationalized by lowering the population percentage criteria of Minority Communities and fulfillment of backwardness parameters in the following manners:-

Earlier only those Towns which were found backward in terms of both in Basic Amenities and Socio-economic parameters were taken up as MCTs. Now, the Towns which were found backward in either or both of the criteria have been taken up as MCT.

Earlier only those Cluster of Villages which were having at least 50% population of Minority Community was taken. Now the population criteria have been lowered to 25%.

  • These rationalizations of criteria  would  facilitate   the   inclusive  growth  of communities and social harmony,

The area to be covered under PMJVK would be 57% more as compared to the existing MsDP.

The MsDP covered 196 districts of the country whereas PMJVK will cover 308 districts of the country.


The Programme aims to address development deficits in the identified minority concentration areas. The identification of minority concentration areas has been done on the basis of the presence of a substantial population of notified Minority Communities based on Census, 2011. The inclusion of Minority Concentration District Headquarters along with the Minority Concentration Towns having the population more than 25,000, Minority Concentration Blocks and Cluster of Villages as per Census, 2011 data, will extend the coverage of population of minority communities.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *